CAF Expand Club Competitions Group Stage To 16 Teams

Confederation of African Football (CAF) has increased the number of teams participating in the group stage of both the CAF Champions League and Confederation Cup to 16 teams starting from next year.

CAF president Issa Hayatou made the announcement in his address at the 38th CAF Ordinary General Assembly held on Wednesday in Mexico City.

The current format for both competitions sees a group stage comprised of two pools of four teams each. From 2017 this will be expanded to four pools of four teams each.

“We take advantage of the experiences of FIFA, UEFA, CONCACAF, AFC, of which we have memoranda of understanding, to equip clubs with the minimum necessary to allow them to be engaged in the interclub competitions of CAF in the near future,” said Hayatou in his speech.

“Competitions that will be subject to major reforms as of next year, considering the introduction of groups phases with 16 clubs instead of eight, like it is now.”
Sports 8167764108078031203

Post a Comment Default Comments Disqus Comments

  1. This Africans Mumu sha! In a continent ravaged with poverty that national teams don't even honor tournaments you want clubs to be travelling anyhow. Where will they get the finance?



Home item

Popular Posts

Get Updates in your Inbox

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner