Supreme Court Voids Tenure Extension for Five Governors

Bayelsa Governor Timipre Sylva
 The Supreme Court yesterday held that the the tenure of five state governors namely Alhaji Ibrahim Idris (Kogi), Aliyu Wammako (Sokoto), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Liyel  Imoke (Cross River) and Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa) ended May 2011.

A seven-man panel of justices led by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Dahiru Musdapher unanimously agreed that the governors were not entitled to stay beyond May 29, 2001.

The court further held that  the intention of the lawmakers was that no governor should spend more than four years tenure in office except he was re-elected for another four years.
Justice Walter Samuel Onnoghen who read the lead judgment held that to allow the governors to spend more than four years would lead to absurdity.

He also said that such an interpretation was against common sense
Politics 2736166292315843340

Post a Comment Default Comments Disqus Comments


Home item

Popular Posts

Get Updates in your Inbox

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner