NIGERIA: INEC Declares Rauf Aregbesola Winner Of Osun Election

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the Osun governorship election, Rauf Aregbesola, has been declared winner of the Osun election.

The INEC Returning Officer, and Vice-Chancellor of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Professor Bamitale Omole, made the pronouncement at the INEC collation centre along Abere Road, Osogbo.

“Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola of the APC , having satisfied the provision of the law and scored the highest vote, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” he said.
Aregbesola won the elections in 22 out of the 30 Local Government Areas of the state, polling 394,684 votes to defeat his opponents.

Iyiola Omisore of the People’s Democratic Party polled 292,747 to emerge second, while Fatai Akingbade of the Labour Party polled 8,898 votes to take the third place.
The incumbent Governor, Rauf Aregbesola, had on Saturday expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the Osun election. He said that the large turnout and the peaceful manner in which the electorates conducted themselves should be commended.

Rauf Aregbesola ran for Governor of Osun State in the 2007 elections.
Although the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Olagunsoye Oyinlola, was declared the winner, Aregbesola appealed the decision and on November 26, 2010 was declared the winner.

Source: ChannelsTV
Politics 1539835828646947551

Post a Comment Default Comments Disqus Comments


Home item

Popular Posts

Get Updates in your Inbox

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner