Algeria's Riyad Mahrez named 2016 CAF African Footballer of the Year

Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez has won the 2016 CAF African Footballer of the Year.

The Leicester City wide man, beat off competition from last year’s winner, Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane.

It is the first time Mahrez has been nominated for the prize, after he helped the Foxes win the 2015/2016 Premier League title, despite the 5,000-1 odds against them.

The 24-year-old scored 17 goals and provided 11 assists and was named PFA Player of the Year.
He received the award at a gala in Abuja, Nigeria.

The recipient of the award is decided by national team coaches and technical directors in Africa – with Yaya and Samuel Eto’o the most-honoured individuals with four titles each.
Sports 2510706248492953051

Post a Comment Default Comments Disqus Comments


Home item

Popular Posts

Get Updates in your Inbox

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner